I specialise in the diagnosis and treatment of all orthopaedic conditions and disorders of the locomotor system.

Every treatment begins with a wide-ranging discussion of your symptoms and a full and detailed examination.

True to the principles of evidence-based medicine, at my practice I can give your orthopaedic problems the time they deserve, so that together we may identify a suitable therapy, tailored to your needs.

My extensive education and experience, backed-up by continuous further training, enable me to find the quickest and most effective way to making you feel fit and well again.

If an operation is considered necessary, I personally conduct it with the assistance of our team at the Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern Wien, located at Stumpergasse 13, 1060 Vienna. Here you can enjoy the comfort of highly professional care, provided not only by both myself and the full nursing and medical team of the orthopaedic unit, but also by our superbly coordinated departments of anaesthesia and internal medicine.

 

huefte2 huefte

HIP

Changes and wear in the hip joint lead to restricted movement accompanied by pain.

At my practice, you will receive a thorough examination in order to establish the primary cause of your problem. Many factors influence the circular movement in the hip, and most problems respond extremely well to conservative treatment.

If you suffer from advanced wear in the joint, hip endoprosthesis surgery (implant of a new hip joint), preferably via the anterior approach, offers reliable reduction in pain and the possibility of returning to the vast majority of sporting activities.

An anterior approach using the AMIS method is my standard approach in this case, as it does not damage muscles or tendons, and the skin incision remains small. Further advantages are a quicker rehabilitation and significantly reduced luxation risk (dislocation). This method should only be performed by surgeons with extensive experience and practice in its application.

The type of implants used have proven successful in thousands of patients, and some have even been specifically designed for this particular approach (AMIS).

After the operation, you will remain in hospital for between three and eight days. On release you will be able to walk unaided, and will once again be able to go up and down stairs with almost no discomfort.

 

 

 Knie 140916-web-maxwalth#1B1037C

Knee

Due to the many tasks it performs, the largest joint in the human body poses a wide range of challenges in terms of diagnosis, with equally wide-ranging therapy potential.

During the examination I assess the neighbouring joints and a large number of muscles, joint partners and forces impacting on the knee, so that together we can decide on the most appropriate treatment.

Should your condition require surgery, there is a wide range of options: from arthroscopy (a minimally invasive intervention to perform an endoscopy of the affected joint, offered as a single day procedure) through cruciate ligament reconstruction to the replacement of part or all of the joint.

The latest techniques make it possible to remove only the damaged cartilage and insert a liner which fits the knee exactly, thanks to a computer-designed cutting method.

The MyKnee technique for new knee joints was co-developed at our Orthopedics unit at the Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern Wien, and is constantly being upgraded.

Thanks to the use of patient-specific instruments, you will have all the advantages of a more accurate, faster and much less traumatic knee operation. In addition, complications like infections, vascular occlusions and excessive blood loss are avoided, and accurate mapping of the knee joint increases implant lifetime.

We can also – if need be – undertake all types of corrective surgery (replacement of individual components or the full system).

Once the wound has stopped weeping and you have no problem bending your new knee joint through 90°, you can be released from hospital, generally within six days after the operation.

 

 

 

Hallux2

Foot, Ankle, Joint

No other part of the body is subjected to as much stress as our feet.
In case of foot and ankle pain, identifying the nature of the disorder is the main priority, as this is the basis for any pain therapy and treatment.
As well as providing you with the correct shoe inserts, you can be prescribed special shoe modifications or patient-specific orthopaedic shoes.
Where joints are worn down, resulting in restrictions in movement accompanied by pain, cartilage build-up therapy or arthroscopic surgery can be undertaken.

Hallux surgery: In cases of big toe deformity (hallux valgus) and arthritis of the main joint of the big toe (hallux rigidus), the pain can be eliminated by operations ranging from a straightening procedure to inserting a small hemiprosthesis in the metatarsophalangeal joint. Hammer toes and ganglions (exostoses) can also be corrected by means of minor surgery, generally on an outpatient basis.

In the hindfoot area, painful heel bones and Achilles tendons respond well to operation, including subsequent to sustaining injury.

 

 

karpaltunnel_schulter ellenbogen2

Hand, Elbow, Shoulder

Characterised by high mobility and involving a multitude of participating neighbouring joints and structures, the shoulder is particularly susceptible to complaints and injury.

My many years of experience in a department specialising in shoulders means that I am well acquainted with all the various therapy methods on offer, from minimally invasive shoulder surgery (shoulder arthroscopy, “keyhole surgery”) to partial or full joint replacements.

Any therapy has to start with a systematic, extensive examination and diagnosis. Once this has been completed, often all that is needed is properly targeted physiotherapy.

Apart from tendinitis calcarea (calcific tendinitis of the shoulder), other frequent disorders are so-called “frozen shoulder” (capsulitis adhaesiva) or the vast array of torn and ruptured tendons (rotator cuff tear). Even arthrosis of the shoulder can nowadays be treated using minimally invasive techniques in certain cases.

Moving down the body, tennis elbow and golfer elbow also need systematic conservative therapies. Here infiltration treatments and intensive physiotherapy are the preferred options. “Joint mice” (arthroliths) can be removed by surgery, and painful tendon insertions can be relieved in the same manner.

 

When it comes to hands, I treat carpal tunnel syndrome, trigger finger and tendon sheath stenosis by surgical operation. The same applies to ganglions in cases where they lead to a reduction in finger function. All these operations can be performed on an outpatient basis, most of them indeed using local anaesthetic only, so that you spend as little time as possible in hospital.

 

 

Wirbelsäule3 Wirbelsauele_Ruckenmark2

Spine

Since it forms the connection between the head, trunk and limbs, my approach to the spine is strictly conservative, using the methods of manual medicine (as a qualified manual therapist) as well as ordinary or CT-guided infiltration.

The majority of all pain in this area, from cervical spine syndrome and straightforward tightening of the muscles to lower back pain, lumbago and slipped discs, can be treated non-intrusively in this manner.

In the relatively rare cases which require urgent surgery, the appropriate indications are issued and you are referred to a trusted specialist.

In this field too, close cooperation with physiotherapists has proved to be extremely successful.

 

 

Dr. Maximilian Walther, M.D.

Dr. Maximilian Walther, M.D.

Married, one daughter.
Studied medicine at the universities of Vienna and Graz.

Trained as a specialist in orthopaedics and orthopaedic surgery at the Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern, Vienna.
Study stays and additional specialist training in hip surgery in France and Switzerland.
Implementation of the AMIS (Anterior Minimally Invasive Surgery) Outpatient Unit at the Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern, Vienna.

Operations on the upper and lower limbs, conservative and manual pain therapy, CT-guided infiltration treatments.

Specialised in minimally invasive hip and knee joint surgery as well as arthroscopic interventions

Contact details

Dr. Maximilian Walther (M.D.)

Specialist in Orthopaedics and
Orthopaedic Surgery

Wahlarzt – Private practice

Landstraßer Hauptstraße 75-77
Rechte Stiege, 1.Stock, Tür 15
1030 Wien

To get to the practice using public transport:
Via the underground U3 line: Get off at Rochusgasse, take the lift or stairs to Hainburgerstraße, and go through the pedestrian walkway in the direction of Landstraßer Hauptstraße. Take the second building entrance immediately on your left.

T.    +43 660 489 4080
M.   mail@orthowalther.at

Ich habe mich auf die Diagnose und Behandlung sämtlicher orthopädischer Erkrankungen und Störungen am Bewegungsapparat spezialisiert.

Am Anfang jeder Behandlung steht neben einem ausführlichen Gespräch eine exakte und umfassende Untersuchung.

In meiner Ordination kann ich – den Grundsätzen der evidenzbasierten Medizin folgend – die notwendige Zeit für Ihre orthopädischen Probleme aufbringen, um mit Ihnen gemeinsam die passende, individuelle Therapie zu finden.

Einer fundierten Ausbildung steht die ununterbrochene Weiterbildung zur Seite, um Ihr Wohlbefinden auf schnellstem und effektivstem Wege wiederherzustellen.

Operationen werden von mir im Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern Wien, Stumpergasse 13, 1060 Wien, durchgeführt. Hier genießen Sie den Komfort einer hochprofessionellen Betreuung nicht nur durch mich und das gesamte pflegerische und ärztliche Team der orthopädischen Abteilung, sondern auch durch die perfekt aufeinander abgestimmten Abteilungen von Anästhesie und Innerer Medizin.

huefte2 huefte

Hüfte

Veränderungen und Abnützungen im Hüftgelenk führen zu einer schmerzhaften Bewegungseinschränkung.

In meiner Ordination erfolgt im Rahmen einer ausführlichen Untersuchung die Eingrenzung Ihrer Beschwerden auf die auslösende Ursache – eine Vielzahl von Faktoren beeinflusst den runden Bewegungsvorgang in der Hüfte, die meisten davon sind konservativ sehr gut zu beherrschen.

Handelt es sich um einen fortgeschrittenen Verschleiß des Gelenks, so bietet die Implantation einer Hüftgelenksendoprothese (neues Hüftgelenk) – vorzugsweise über den vorderen Zugang – eine verlässliche Schmerzreduktion und die Möglichkeit der Wiederaufnahme der allermeisten sportlichen Tätigkeiten.

Der vordere Zugang in der AMIS – Technik ist hierbei mein Standardzugang, weil dabei weder Muskeln noch Sehnen verletzt werden, auch der Hautschnitt ist klein. Weitere Vorteile sind eine schnellere Rehabilitation und ein deutlich reduziertes Luxationsrisiko („Ausrenken“).

Diese Methode bedarf einiger chirurgischer Erfahrung und sollte regelmäßig angewendet werden.

Ich verwende ausschließlich Implantate, die sich bereits bei tausenden Patienten bewährt haben und teilweise eigens für diesen speziellen Zugang entworfen wurden.

Nach der Operation ist ein Spitalsaufenthalt zwischen 3 und 8 Tagen vorgesehen, bei Entlassung gehen Sie selbständig und bewältigen auch Stiegen schon wieder annähernd schmerzfrei.

 

 

 Knie 140916-web-maxwalth#1B1037C

Knie

Das größte Gelenk des menschlichen Körpers birgt mit seinen mannigfachen Aufgaben verschiedenste Möglichkeiten in der Diagnostik ebenso wie in der Therapie.

Angrenzende Gelenke und eine Vielzahl an Muskeln, Gelenkspartnern und einwirkenden Kräften werden von mir während der Untersuchung beurteilt, um gemeinsam mit Ihnen eine adäquate Behandlung zu erstellen.

Sollte Ihr Beschwerdebild eine Operation erforderlich machen, so steht auch hier eine breite Auswahl an Eingriffen zur Verfügung, von der Arthroskopie (Gelenksspiegelung „durch das Knopfloch“, gerne tagesklinisch) über die Kreuzbandplastik bis zum Ersatz eines Teils oder des ganzen Gelenks.

Modernste Techniken erlauben es, lediglich den krankhaft veränderten Knorpelbelag zu entfernen, und mit einer computergeplanten Schnitttechnik eine ideal passende Ummantelung des Knochens einzubringen.

Die MyKnee–Technik für ein neues Kniegelenk wurde und wird an unserer Abteilung im Krankenhaus der Barmherzigen Schwestern Wien mit entwickelt und laufend modernisiert.

Dank der patientenspezifischen Instrumente profitieren Sie von einer genaueren, schnelleren und weniger traumatischen Knieoperation. Außerdem werden Komplikationen wie Infekte, Gefäßverschlüsse und erhöhter Blutverlust vermieden, und die exakte Vermessung des Kniegelenks erhöht die Lebensdauer der Implantate.

Im Fall der Fälle ist auch jede Art von Revisionseingriff (Wechsel einzelner Komponenten oder des kompletten Systems) möglich.

Sobald die Wunde nicht mehr nässt und Ihr neues Kniegelenk von Ihnen mühelos auf 90° gebeugt wird, steht einer Entlassung nichts mehr im Wege – meist innerhalb der ersten 6 Tage nach Operation.

 

 

 

Hallux2

Fuss, SPRUNGGELENK

Kein anderer Körperteil ist ähnlich vielen Belastungen ausgesetzt wie unser Fuß. Bei Schmerzen an Füßen und Sprunggelenken steht das Finden der Funktionsstörung im Vordergrund, als Basis jeder Schmerztherapie und Behandlung.

Neben einer optimalen Einlagenversorgung können eventuell spezielle Schuhzurichtungen oder auch eigene orthopädische Schuhe notwendig werden.

Bei abgenützten Gelenken und schmerzhafter Bewegungseinschränkung können stufenweise Knorpeltherapien oder auch arthroskopische Eingriffe durchgeführt werden.

Halluxchirurgie: bei Fehlstellung der Großzehe (Hallux valgus) oder Großzehensteife (Hallux rigidus) können Operationen von der Geradestellung bis zur kleinen Hemiprothese des Grundgelenks die Schmerzen beheben. Auch Hammerzehen und Überbeine (Exostosen) können mit kleinen, meist tagesklinischen Eingriffen korrigiert werden.

Am Rückfuß lassen sich schmerzhafte Fersenbeine und Achillessehnen – auch nach Verletzungen – gut operativ behandeln.

 

 

karpaltunnel_schulter ellenbogen2

Hand, Ellbogen, Schulter

Die Schulter mit ihrer hohen Beweglichkeit und den vielen daran beteiligten Nachbargelenken und Strukturen ist besonders anfällig für Beschwerden und Verletzungen.

Durch meine jahrelange Tätigkeit an einer Schulterspezialabteilung bin ich mit sämtlichen möglichen Therapiemethoden bestens vertraut – von der minimalinvasiven Schulterchirurgie (Schulterarthroskopie, „Knopfloch-Chirurgie“) bis zum teilweisen oder kompletten Gelenksersatz.

Eine routinierte, ausführliche Untersuchung und Diagnostik steht am Anfang jeder Therapie, danach kann oft schon eine gezielte Physiotherapie zum Ziel führen.

Häufige Krankheitsbilder stellen neben der Tendinitis calcarea („Kalkschulter“, Kalkdepot) die sogenannte „frozen shoulder“ (Capsulitis adhaesiva) oder das weite Feld der Sehneneinrisse bzw. auch Abrisse (Rotatorenmanschettenruptur) dar.

Auch Arthrosen an der Schulter können heute zum Teil schon minimalinvasiv versorgt werden.

Eine Etage tiefer bedürfen Tennisellbogen und auch Golferellbogen ebenso einer konsequenten konservativen Therapie, hier sind Infiltrationen und eine eingehende Physiotherapie vorrangig. Operativ können freie Gelenkskörper entfernt und schmerzhafte Sehnenansätze entlastet werden.

An der Hand behandle ich operativ das Karpaltunnelsyndrom, schnellende Finger und Sehnenscheidenengen sowie Ganglien, wenn sie zu einer Funktionsbeeinträchtigung führen. Diese Eingriffe können sämtlich tagesklinisch, meist sogar in Lokalanästhesie erledigt werden, mit einem minimalen Zeitaufwand für Sie.

 

 

Wirbelsäule3 Wirbelsauele_Ruckenmark2

Wirbelsäule

Der Wirbelsäule, als Verbindung zwischen Kopf, Rumpf, und Extremitäten, widme ich mich ausschließlich konservativ, mit den Mitteln der manuellen Medizin (als diplomierter Manualtherapeut) sowie mit einfachen oder auch CT-gezielten Infiltrationen.

Ein Großteil aller Schmerzen in diesem Bereich, vom Zervikalsyndrom über einfache Verspannungen bis zu Kreuzschmerz, Hexenschuss und Bandscheibenvorfall, kann auf diese schonende Art behandelt werden.

In den – relativ seltenen – Fällen, die ein schnelles chirurgisches Vorgehen notwendig machen, stelle ich die Indikation und überweise Sie an erprobte Spezialisten.

Auch auf diesem Feld hat sich die enge Zusammenarbeit mit Physiotherapeutinnen sehr bewährt.

 

 

Dr.med.univ. Maximilian Walther

Dr.med.univ. Maximilian Walther

Verheiratet, eine Tochter

Medizinstudium an den Universitäten von Wien und Graz

Ausbildung zum Facharzt für Orthopädie und orthopädische Chirurgie am Krankenhaus BHS Wien

Studienaufenthalte und Fortbildungen zum Thema Hüftchirurgie in Frankreich und der Schweiz.

Implementation einer AMIS – Ambulanz im Krankenhaus der barmherzigen Schwestern, Wien.

Operationen an oberer und unterer Extremität, konservative und manuelle Schmerztherapie, CT-gezielte Infiltrationen

Spezialisierung auf minimalinvasive Hüft- und Kniegelenkschirurgie sowie arthroskopische Eingriffe

News & Wissenswertes

    Hallo Welt!

    August 4, 2014

    Willkommen zur deutschen Version von WordPress. Dies ist der erste Beitrag. Du kannst ihn bearbeiten...

    mehr …

    Markup: Text Alignment

    Januar 9, 2013

    Default This is a paragraph. It should not have any alignment of any kind. It should...

    mehr …

    Markup: Title With Special Characters

    Januar 5, 2013

    Putting special characters in the title should have no adverse effect on the layout or...

    mehr …

WEITERE BEITRÄGE